Skip to content

Can I Actually be Doing too Much Cardio?

July 13, 2009

Cario

Are you noticing that your cardio workouts are getting hard than they normally are?
You could be doing too much cardio. Yep, I said it… too much!

*
*
Cardio.1*
Your body perceives exercise as a stressor, therefore too much exercise can have a negative effect on it. Your metabolism will shut down, holding into your fat and burning everything else. You are also opening up a door to injury with all the wear and tear you are doing on your body.
*
*
If you start to feel general fatigue, irritability, physical soreness, insomnia, headaches, or you find that Swimmingyour workouts are much harder than they normally are you probably are overdoing it on the cardio. Obviously everybody is going to be different when it comes to over doing it with cardio, but it is recommended that you do no more than 60-90 minutes of cardio a day. Obviously this depends on a variety of things such as intensity, activity, and the amount of food you are in taking that day.
*
*
cycling1It is also recommended that you give your body at least one to two rest days throughout the week. This gives your body time to heal itself and your cells can regenerate. If you are like me, you find it hard to not exercise on your days off… I sometimes feel a little guilty. So instead of heading to the gym I find activities throughout my day that keeps me active, but gives my body a rest, such as going shopping at the mall, working in the garden, or playing in the pool.
*
*
So allow your body the rest it needs… you will probably burn more calories the rest of the week because you will have more energy!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Fran permalink
    July 13, 2009 11:50 AM

    I knew this so I plan two days a week that I don’t exercise. Only at this moment I exercise 3 times a week (running) :) the other days that I’ve planned I always have an excuse not to go. So nothing wrong with my resting days only with my exercises :)

    Fran

    http://dutchgirlgetshealthy.wordpress.com

  2. July 13, 2009 5:04 PM

    this is such a great post! I think its really important that we do give our bodies a day off to recharge. Plus, the next workout always feels amazing after a nice rest day!

  3. July 13, 2009 8:03 PM

    Yes, rest days are so important! Great reminder! :)

  4. April (Foods of April) permalink
    July 14, 2009 11:16 AM

    Great post! I recently found out that I was doing too much cardio- I was constantly tired and sore and getting multiple muscle spasms! Rest is definitely important :)

    http://ajangel25.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

