Skip to content

Watch Your Waistline at Taco Bell- Healthy Choices

July 14, 2009

tacobell

Don’t think about getting a salad at taco bell if you are watching your waist line! Salads are nowhere close to a healthy option at Taco Bell!
1617tbtacosaladThe lowest calorie salad option is the fiesta taco salad without the shell, calculating at 470 calories and 23g of fat
… add that shell and you have 840 calories and 43g of fat!
*
WOW! Eating this salad is like eating about 6 tacos!
*
*
Not too sure what healthy options they have? Not to worry, Taco Bell has created their very own healthy choice menu!
*
Taco Bell has a “Fresco Style” menu, containing 9 healthy food choices with less than 20-100 calories than the original item and fewer than 9g of fat. These “Fresco Style” food items replace cheese and sauces with a fiesta salsa made of diced tomatoes, onions, and cilantro. Here are those 9 healthy options:
*
Fresco Crunch Taco: 150 calories, 7g fattacobell-1
Fresco Soft Taco- Beef: 180 calories, 7g fat
Fresco Burrito Supreme- Chicken: 340 calories, 8g fat
Fresco Burrito Supreme- Steak: 330 calories, 8g fat
Fresco Fiesta Burrito- Chicken: 340 calories, 8g fat
Ranchero Chicken Soft Taco: 170 calorie, 4g fat
Grilled Steak Soft Taco: 160 calories, 4.5g fat
Bean Burrito: 340 calories, 8g fat

*
I always ask for extra lettuce to my tacos. Not only does it add a little freshness to them but it adds bulk to your meal… keeping you full longer!
*
*
Want to add a side to these healthy options? The rice and beans is your best bet. The beans are 180 calories with 7g of fat and the rice is 130 calories with 3.5g of fat.
*
Other than these food items, I highly suggest staying away from those gorditas, burritions, and chalupas… they are high in calorie and fat!
*
*
If you want the nutritional information on your favorite food items Taco Bell, click HERE

Enjoy Taco Bell… Fresco Style!

9 Comments leave one →
  1. July 14, 2009 9:17 AM

    In high school I used to take down 2 chalupas, a soft taco, and a huge sweet tea without batting an eye lash! I have no idea how I stayed so lean back then…

    Great tips tho!

  2. July 14, 2009 9:35 AM

    The Ranchero Chicken Soft Taco is so amazing! I rarely have fast food but thost tacos are so delicious and not too bad calorie-wise for Taco Bell! Fun post!

  3. July 14, 2009 9:56 AM

    i love these restaurant tips! i don’t eat fast food often, but sometimes on road trips, hurry you need something fast so its great to know there are options on hand!

    thanks girly :)

  4. July 14, 2009 10:03 AM

    Hey thanks for the comment on my blog! You’ve got a great blog here. I love all the healthy eating tips. I’ll definately be visiting often. :)

  5. July 14, 2009 10:31 AM

    I like all your healthy eating tips too! Taco Bell is a restaurant we don’t visit. Years ago, before I lost all my weight, but we would get sick everytime we ate there so we stopped going, and stopped getting sick! This was in Florida, and I’m sure they aren’t all like that!

    Your blog is wonderful! Very interesting articles and posts.

  6. foodnfit permalink
    July 14, 2009 10:41 AM

    Omg it’s like the salad I used to get at TGI Fridays–I always thought it was so healthy because it was a SALAD well it turns out it’s one ofo the worst things to order! :( I was NOT happy about that!

  7. July 14, 2009 7:46 PM

    Good post! :) I like the fresco style menu as a healthier fast food option. And the salsa is really tasty. We ate at Taco Bell on a recent road trip, and I talked hubby into getting his food fresco style. He actually preferred them compared to the regular ones!

  8. paulusfive permalink
    July 14, 2009 10:41 PM

    I love this post as I LOVE Taco Bell. This will help me be less naughty when I eat there. Great job!

  9. July 15, 2009 4:29 AM

    I love when you post tips!! save me some calories when I am stuck sitting the car all day :)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

