Skip to content

What’s for dinner?

June 24, 2009

My stomach starts growling and I just realized that I haven’t figured out what I am going to make for dinner, so I head into the kitchen and roam through the cabinets to figure out what we have that I can throw together. Within minutes I have eaten a few wheat thins here, some cheese-its there, chips, and a hand full of nuts.

There just went a few hundred calories!

b35c08749a321924_refrigerator.xlarger

When it comes to eating and losing weight, I have noticed that planning out meals and snacks before the day begins helps in self-control and keeps one within their calorie range. The night before sit down and write down when, where, and what you will be eating. Carrying around this little piece of paper will help when you start getting hungry at 9am and you know that at 10am you are going to have an apple. It also prevents you from reaching for that donut that someone brought into the office that looks so tempting… I hate when they do that (especially when someone else on a diet forces you to split it with them because they are on a diet and don’t have self-control to avoid it entirely.)

What are some healthy meals that you have planned out for the week?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 24, 2009 9:54 AM

    Whatever the meal is it won’t include brocolli! I’m starting to turn green from eating so much of it:)
    Chicken and a salad will be the main menu for the week. Chicken on the grill, chicken in the frying pan, chicken in big pieces and small pieces. Gotta get some fish also…a nice piece of salmon is always good. Now I’m hungry…lunch time!
    Thanks for posting your hints!
    Robin

    • Ruth permalink*
      July 6, 2009 9:57 PM

      I hear ya. Eating all those veggies can get old at times. Chicken is fun because you can do so many different things with it… although you can be creative with your veggies too!

  2. Karla permalink
    June 24, 2009 10:34 AM

    I’m trying to loose the baby weight and I do great at the calorie counting, but I never know how much is too much when it comes to fat or sugar. What are the general guidelines for fat and sugar limits per meal/snack??

  3. Ruth permalink*
    June 25, 2009 10:27 AM

    Karla, I will put up a few posts on sugar and fat this week!

  4. June 26, 2009 11:19 AM

    I’m not a she, but I hope I’m welcome to comment just the same. Do you have any recommendations on meal-planning websites or books? Sometimes it’s difficult to even think of anything new.

  5. paulusfive permalink
    June 27, 2009 12:13 AM

    And not to be annoyingly obsessed with cost, etc, but that is a main tip for saving money. Have your menu planned out so you don’t get take out. Save money and your health!!!

Leave a Reply

