Skip to content

Summer Fun Workouts

June 30, 2009

Many times I get stuck in a routine and I feel that I don’t get a good workout without going to the gym and doing the same thing over and over. I forget that there are so many other ways to get a workout in and have a great time doing it.

With summer in full swing and it’s finally sunny and beautiful outside, why be stuck in the gym doing the same routine? Get out there and find fun activities for you and your kids or loved ones that will get you active and your blood flowing. Plus you get the benefit of Vitamin D for the sun, which helps with calcium absorption to build strong bones!

Here are some creative and fun workouts that you should utilize while the weather is nice and warm outside:


** Go play at a park. This could be running around the playground with your kids or creating a workout with a bench for stair steppers, tricep dips, or push-ups. Use the monkey bars for pull-ups and leg lifts. I love to use the trails at parks and sprint the long parts and do a jog and sometimes squats down the short parts.

s_FI030107FLFOP002** Run / Walk outside. You kids would love to go on a little adventure through the neighborhood! Create a list of things for the kids to find while on the walk and bring a little baggie to collect them in.

** Get a group of friends together for a softball game. I love spending time with friends, but I feel like the only time we get together is when we are eating. The next time you are with your friends, suggest an activity that gets all of you moving.

images** Play Tennis. I found a $1.00 tennis racket at my nearest Thrift Store and play at the near by high school’s court.

** Hike up a trail. I live in Arizona so it gets pretty hot out here, so we usually go hiking about 5:45am to beat the extreme heat. It’s early, but the view of the day beginning is beautiful!

ss_101396205
** Swim some laps in the pool. If you don’t enjoy swimming laps, than you can walk around the pool. Swinging your arms and lifting your legs in the water gives you added resistance, creating a whole body workout

** Walk to a starbucks or restaurant with a friend. Not only are you spending quality time with a friend but you are burning off those calories that you just took in.

m_FI080106FITRY001** Go for a bike ride with a friend. If you don’t have a bike and want one, I suggest again the Thrift Store. I found mine for $15.00 and it was in great condition. My friend and I use to ride our bikes to our favorite breakfast place and then explore the city afterwards. It made for a fun Saturday!

** Walk around an outdoor mall. You don’t have to go with the intentions of buying something. Push the stroller or window shop. I get a lot of creative ideas for accessories or home decorating when I do this.

What are some of your favorite outdoor workouts?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2009 9:30 PM

    Love all those great suggestions. I think I will take the kids to the park tomorrow🙂

    • Ruth permalink*
      July 6, 2009 10:05 PM

      Hope you and the kids had fun at the park!

  2. July 1, 2009 12:38 PM

    Ruth, I love your blog! It was great to see you🙂
    -Kimmy

Leave a Reply

