Skip to content

Feeling Sore After a Workout?

July 4, 2009

I love that feeling of waking up in the morning and barely being able to move because my body is so sore from lifting weights the day before. But many times it keeps me from getting up and going to the gym. I guess I find it as a good excuse to hit the snooze button.

So how do I prevent my body from being sore the next day?

STRETCH!!!!!!!

static-stretching

When one lifts weights, lactic acid builds up in your muscles, which is what will make you feel sore the next day. To prevent this, you must set aside at least 10-15 minutes at the end of your workout to stretch out those muscles. Each position should be held at least 20 seconds in order to get a complete stretch in.
You know you didn’t stretch enough when you wake up the next morning and are still sore. I usually will stretch out those sore muscles before hitting the gym. It feels 10 times better than just attempting to “walk it off.”

So don’t use soreness as an excuse… wake up, stretch, and hit the gym!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

