Skip to content

Zip It, Lock It, Snap It

July 6, 2009

oreos
If you are anything like me, you have a list of foods that you can’t have in the house because you end up eating them in one sitting!
I have self-control, but when it comes to certain foods, I just can’t resist eating the whole box while watching TV or when I get in one of those munching moods. Some of those foods are Wheat Thins, Cheese-Its, Ice Cream, Gold Fish, Chips, Oreos… and the list goes on.

images-1

images

pringles

So how do we allow ourselves these foods without going crazy in one sitting?

Sip Lock bags and Tupperware containers!

First off, I ask myself at the grocery store if these foods will fill me up with one serving size and is it worth it?
Then when I get home I immediately split up the servings into zip lock bags or Tupperware containers. This way I know how many calories are in each one and it provides portion control!

9680hr

Keep in mind that most of these foods are not the most nutritious snack but they help fill a void if you need them. When I avoid my favorite foods I end up ending double or triple the amount when I attempt to completely cut them out of my life.

WHAT FOODS ARE ON YOUR LIST?

6 Comments leave one →
  1. July 6, 2009 5:45 PM

    haha replace the oreos with pizza goldfish and you’ve got me stuffing my face like there is no tomorrow🙂

    • Ruth permalink*
      July 6, 2009 10:01 PM

      OH, pizza goldfish are so good! Have you tried the ranch ones… haha. I don’t think this is helping our addictons🙂

  2. July 8, 2009 6:19 AM

    I keep cookies out of the house. And Doritos. And anything that has Entemann’s in front of it.
    It’s a great idea to portion out foods as soon as you bring them in the house. My fear is that the portions wouldn’t stop me with some of my trigger foods. On the rare occasion that those foods are in my house, I also hide them in cabinets because then there’s a slight chance I’ll forget they are there.🙂

  3. July 9, 2009 6:21 AM

    I just went on a small Goldfish rampage last night. This is a great post – it’s so true. While I’ve been fairly good at keeping the calorie count low every day, there are just certain moments where I’m like, “Forget this – I need salt!”

    • Ruth permalink*
      July 9, 2009 7:23 AM

      haha! I am just like that. Those moments get me every time.

  4. July 31, 2009 5:21 PM

    I don’t know if anyones tried these multi compartment sandwich bags, I get to pack my sandwich and fruit in the same bag. Its convenient and I dont have multiple bags to pack and I am saving on the amount of bags I use. I got them on their site http://www.ecozip-bags.com

    I love them!!

Leave a Reply

